Mar 11

 A few highlights of books coming in August and September 2014, recommendations for fans of Grisham and Dan Brown, book subscription services, and two books we can’t wait for you to read.

Big thanks to Melissa Klug for pitching in and hosting last week!

 

Ann’s turn to tease

As you know from last week, we’re just back from Sales Conference where we heard about books that will be published in Fall 2014. There were so many great books, I found it very difficult to limit my list, so here are just a few of the books that I am very excited for you to read.

 

 

audiobooksAudiobook of the week (09:19)

A Burnable Book  A Burnable Book by Bruce Holsinger, narrated by Simon Vance, is my pick for this week’s Audiobooks.com Audiobook of the Week.

Special thanks to Audiobooks.com for sponsoring this episode of Books on the Nightstand.

Audiobooks.com allows you to listen to over 40,000 audiobooks, instantly, wherever you are, and the first one is free. Download or stream any book directly to your Apple or Android device. Sign up for a free 30-day trial and free audiobook download by going to www.audiobooks.com/freebook

Subscriptions and Slumps (12:37)

We answer two questions from our Q&A submissions.

Joe from Buffalo is in a reading slump, and wants recommendation for books that are similar to Dan Brown or John Grisham. Oh, do we have recommendations!

Another way to get out of a reading slump could be a bookstore subscription service. Barbara from Wyoming emailed in to ask about them. Since Barbara does not have a local bookstore, she asked how one might find a bookstore subscription club.

Many stores have these clubs, where you sign up for a period of time and receive a book in the mail every month or every quarter. Some are book only, some are specifically author signed first editions, and some come packaged with bonus items. Our first recommendation would be to do some sleuthing online to find a bookstore with recommendations that appeal to your tastes. Many stores have these clubs, and many list their previous selections on their websites. A few that we mentioned in this episode (and be aware that there are many, many more but we could not name them all):

 

There are many others out there, so have fun exploring!

Two books we can’t wait for you to read: (22:46)

 

Sixth Extinction   Spinning Heart

Michael’s recommendation this week is The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Colbert, the story of how we are in “the sixth extinction,” where more and more plants and animals are disappearing permanently from our planet. Each chapter focuses on a different animal, some who have disappeared and why, and in later chapters, animals that are in the process of disappearing. It’s an alarming book which paints an amazing picture of where we are and what we can and can’t do.

The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan is my pick this week. It was longlisted for the Booker Prize and had not been published in the US at that time, but now it is available here. It’s a novel set in Ireland which looks at a small Irish town and the economic despair that happens when a major employer closes and the owner takes off with his employee’s retirement funds. It’s told in a unique and beautiful style, through 21 different voices of people in the town, and with each person’s story you get more and more of the complete picture.

 

  • Carol Kubala

    Ann & Michael had some great suggestions for Joe from Buffalo seeking books like Dan Brown or John Grisham.

    I immediately thought of Steve Berry who writes fast paced historical thrillers where he often is on a quest to seek art treasure. The Amber Room is one of my all time favorites. It is the fictionalized account of what happened to 40 amber panels stolen from Russia’s Catherine’s Palace during World War II. Fascinating.

    Another possibility is Daniel Silva. His series of spy thrillers featuring Gabriel Allon are top notch.

    • http://www.booksonthenightstand.com AnnKingman

      I can’t believe I forgot Steve Berry! Perfect recommendation!

  • Kristine Westney Ritter

    Something I started doing recently is creating a reminder for myself whenever you mention a book that isn’t coming out for several months. I used to add those titles to Goodreads, but since the publication dates are so far out I find that they get lost in the shuffle. By setting a reminder, I get a pop up on the book’s publication date and I anticipate that those reminders will be fun surprises as they start to activate throughout the summer and fall.

    • http://www.booksonthenightstand.com AnnKingman

      Nice!

  • Maureen

    Ann ~ Questions for you re: your experience with Paperback to the Future: how timely were your books sent and did you have an issue with duplicates? My husband got me a year’s subscription for my b-day (in Jan.). To make a long story short, it’s the middle of March and I’ve only received one book. And it was one I’ve already read. The bookstore was initially quick in their responses to my questions/concerns, but that’s essentially stopped. I must admit that at this point, I’m seriously considering asking for our money back and just chucking the whole thing. Your thoughts would be much appreciated!

    • http://www.booksonthenightstand.com AnnKingman

      Maureen, I did not have any issues, but neither did I track exactly when the package came. It was a nice surprise in my mailbox, but I didn’t track if it was exactly once a month. I did get all 12 installments.

      I suggest letting them know that you are having issues.

      • Maureen

        Thanks, Ann. I have emailed Liberty about it; not sure if I’m having email issues or she is or what. Maybe I’ll try sending an email to the store. Thanks again for your input.

        • Maureen

          Apparently, my Feb. book got lost in the mail. :-( But, they offered to add a month to my subscription to make up for the wait. :-)

  • Lianne

    Another suggestiong for Joe is Katherine Neville. Specifically, The Eight and its sequel, The Fire. The Eight is the story of both a nun in France during the crackdown on the Knights Templar, and a woman in the modern day tracking down the treasure that the woman hid, which may contain the secret to an elixir of immortality. Originally published before Dan Brown came along (about twenty years ago), it is still in print.

  • Pingback: Book 19: A Burnable Book – Bruce Holsinger | The Oddness of Moving Things

preload preload preload